Lodge of Perfection Degrees

The Degrees conferred by the Lodge of Perfection are known as the Ineffable Degrees. The degrees are intended to extend the lessons of the first three degrees. They convey the various attributes of God as they affect man and teach lessons in morality.

4° Secret Master

The Fourth Degree emphasizes duty, fidelity, integrity and the necessity for secrecy in all confidential relationships.

5° Perfect Master

This degree teaches that selfish thoughts and unworthy ambitions will corrupt and destroy a man.

6° Intimate Secretary

This degree teaches that there are desert stretches in every individual life and in the history of every nation, which results in a breakdown of discipline and loss of faith.  This degree is a clarion call to faith: faith in ourselves, faith in each other and faith in God.

7° Provost & Judge

This degree teaches us to righteously judge, and that one law and one custom shall apply to all.  Let justice be impartial, tempered with mercy.

8° Intendant of the Building

This degree teaches that each new honor is meant to be a step toward perfection in our moral code.  Each honor earned demands attention to a particular duty.

9° Master Elect of Nine

This degree teaches that a mutual belief in a Supreme Power should bind all men together in a world-wide brotherhood.

10° Master Elect of Fifteen

This degree teaches that a violator of his obligations and commitments will not go unpunished and further that excuses, rationalizations and other evidences of a lack of repentance will very likely increase the severity of the penalties.

11° Sublime Master Elected

This degree dwells on good citizenship.  Evil doings should be punished.  Honesty and respect for others should be rewarded.  Be earnest, honest and sincere.

12° Grand Master Architect

This degree teaches the quality of mercy;  that it is a spirit of compassion and a tenderness of heart which disposes us to overlook injuries and to treat an offender better than he deserves.

13° Master of the Ninth Arch

This degree teaches that difficulties and dangers, however great, should not deter the true and faithful brother from progressing onward to perfection.  It teaches the great truth that the finest things in life come only after.

14° Grand Master Elect

In the Scottish Rite, this degree is the summit of Ancient Craft masonry.  As the crowning degree of the Lodge of Perfection, its essence is the holiness of God and reverence for His Holy Name.  God will not old him guiltless who takes His Name in vain.